Blessings Come, but on its own time.

image

Nature often offers clues about how we should live our lives, if you are tuned into her. Farmers spend many hours outside, no matter the time of day (or night), all seasons, in all weather. There are quiet moments in this work when we stop, look around and notice many things. Things like subtle changes as the seasons evolve, little views of beauty both large and small.

image

image

Many people complain as they look at the calendar and wonder why Mother Nature is not following it. Well, the calendar is man made without the wisdom the earth processes. There are blessings to be found if you give the reigns over to that wisdom. I am not a believer in luck. Luck is a discovered blessing that was there all along. It is just many of us are not paying attention.

So what is the reason for snow on a Spring morning? I want to know, so I head out. I am met with the contrast of spring flowers under cold crystals of snow flakes. I even find my rosemary in bloom and hyacinth. I love blue in the snow. Cool color on a cool morning. As I look at my garden, I notice how behind I am on chores to get ready to plant. But nature is telling me it is ok, because she is behind too. And I can’t start planting until she decides anyway. I should not be in a hurry.

image

image

My chickens are out on their morning stroll too. They stop and examine everything. Nothing is too small not to get a close inspection. All of our blessings, the big ones and the little ones are very important and not to be taken for granted.

image

image

image

I breath in the crisp air. This air will not be hear for long. The heat of Summer will be here soon enough. Even though it might seem this Winter is without end. It will of course…not on our time but on the schedule of the Earth. Trust in her. She has done a good job providing for us so far. Good fortune and wisdom are all around, if you just look for it.

image

About woolfarmgal

In middle age, had the courage to follow my heart-raise sheep, goats and rabbits and build a business around fiber. In the process, discovered an outlet for creativity. I not only knit, I spin, dye yarn, roving and felt, I also now knitting Shetland Wool socks on my antique sock machine called 1910 Socks. I also design patterns for knitting. You can find my products on my Etsy shop, Sweet Tree Hill Farm. And I teach many of these skills. My bliss is working where I live, having sheep as co-workers and sharing all of this with other fiber enthusiasts.

Posted on March 21, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hi Kathy,
    You know, it make me shiver a little to look at your snow-dusted photos but then it all looks so lovely in your little corner of Virginia. Those chickens are beautiful all puffed up against the snow. I bet they feel pretty lucky to be able to scratch around freely like that. My grandmother kept chickens when I was a child in the Czech Republic. Yesterday I thought about getting some chickens here in Vancouver. We are now allowed up to ten urban chickens. It would be so wonderful to have fresh eggs every day. What an adventure that would be. Of course, then I’d have to have that bee hive we’re also allowed to keep in the city. 🙂

Leave a Reply

North American Sea Glass Association official website

NASGA is a non-profit organization positively supporting sea glass collectors and the sea glass community with festivals, information, educational opportunities, commercial membership and more. The primary goal of NASGA is to establish a community of informed collectors and sellers of sea glass that are educated on the characteristics and significance of genuine sea glass.

Fabric & Fiction

Adventures in story and stitchery.

Young. Female. Cancer.

I have no filter. Welcome to my brain.

Homeplace Earth

Education and Design for a Sustainable World

SockerMom

Where socks are a party!

ella gordon

textile maker

Outlander Online

Your #1 Source For All Things Outlander

Terry Dresbach

AN 18th CENTURY LIFE

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Wovember

Celebrating WOOL for what it is.

Dairy Carrie

Live, Love, Eat Cheese

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Uist Wool

North Uist's Spinning Mill

Sheepy Hollow Farm

Home to Wooly Tyme Shetlands & Kids Play Dairy Goats

February Twelve

To knit, knit, knit

weestorybook

recording creative ideas, adventures and finds

