Week of challenges, but still happy.

This week was one of those that no matter what you had planned, the universe decided that it would be in the driver’s seat.

Week started with one of our rams getting caught in the electric fence. I am thankful my neighbor gets out a bit earlier to start chores than I do. He found him and called me as I was getting ready to head outside and he shut the fence off. We both cut him out and got him to the barn. Hickory was breathing, but could not walk, or even hold his head up. I try to do most of my vet work, but this situation was beyond my know-how. I took Hickory in and he was examined. His heart rate was fine and he was not in shock. He got a steroid shot and some fluids to help with any swelling. I put him in a stall and started him on sugar water and then gave him a slurry of lamb and sheep pellets, warm water and molasses. And finally adding hay. I would lift the little guy to try and get him moving, and massaging his legs.

image

Goats waiting for their hay and trying to dodge snowflakes.

As we were nursing our little guy, we were hit with six inches of wet heavy snow. This meant moving goats and other rams to the barn area for shelter. I needed the stall so Hickory was moved to the central portion of the barn where we keep bales of hay. At least for the night. During the day, I put him outside under the pole barn so he could get fresh air. And I was continuing his physical therapy. He is getting his strength back little by little. All of his legs seem to be improving except his front left leg, resulting in several face plants. So we are continuing the nursing, refusing to give in as Hickory is giving it his all.

So today, Friday…our blue French/English Angora bunny gave birth to seven kits. Actually eight, but one was still-born. They are all good size and Saphire prepared a lovely nest. She was putting the finishing touches on it this morning and she was ripping fiber from her tummy with urgency. Angora was flying everywhere as there was a bit of a breeze. I knew at that point, she would have them today. And with so many, well…I hope she can feed them all. We will see what kind of mom she is. She certainly has lots of work ahead. And for those wondering- we will have some to sell, including one black adult. Keep you posted.

image

Brand new baby bunnies in a well built nest.

About woolfarmgal

In middle age, had the courage to follow my heart-raise sheep, goats and rabbits and build a business around fiber. In the process, discovered an outlet for creativity. I not only knit, I spin, dye yarn, roving and felt, I also now knitting Shetland Wool socks on my antique sock machine called 1910 Socks. I also design patterns for knitting. You can find my products on my Etsy shop, Sweet Tree Hill Farm. And I teach many of these skills. My bliss is working where I live, having sheep as co-workers and sharing all of this with other fiber enthusiasts.

Posted on March 8, 2013, in In the Pasture and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Veronica Roth

    Oh dear Kathy, you have had a time of it. Will your Hickory be ok? I think he will but I’m not sure about these things. Poor creature. But how lovely to have new angora bunnies in time for Easter. 🙂

  2. Thanks for your comment, Veronica. Hickory is really trying. I’m picking up an injectable from the vet tomorrow. Hopefully this will move things along. The little bunnies are a blessing. I’ll post more pics as they grow.

  3. Life on the farm is..I can see, full of challenges. Happy that Hickory survived and that your
    bunnies have arrived. What a nice Easter gift.

    Grace

  4. The picture of the goats is adorable. Goats seem like such friendly creatures. I hope we can have some one day.

    • Goats are fun, full of personality. Some friendlier than others. The more time you spend with them, the more trust builds. I bought one adult who would not let me near her for years. But over time she gradually let me in in little ways. Now in her old age, she follows me around while I do my chores. She is good company.

Leave a Reply

Young. Female. Cancer.

I have no filter. Welcome to my brain.

Homeplace Earth

Education and Design for a Sustainable World

SockerMom

Where socks are a party!

ella gordon

textile maker

Outlander Online

Your #1 Source For All Things Outlander

Terry Dresbach

AN 18th CENTURY LIFE

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Wovember

Celebrating WOOL for what it is.

Dairy Carrie

Live, Love, Eat Cheese

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Rhonda Gessner

Purpose, Passion & Profit

Uist Wool

North Uist's Spinning Mill

Sheepy Hollow Farm

Home to Wooly Tyme Shetlands & Kids Play Dairy Goats

February Twelve

To knit, knit, knit

weestorybook

recording creative ideas, adventures and finds

I can do that!

An optimist's guide to D.I.Y.

