Rain, rain and more…snow?

Regardless of rain or snow, Nisa is guarding.

Regardless of rain or snow, Nisa is guarding.

Ok…this is a boo hoo I think this weather sucks post. As someone who has a bunch of outside chores, and am tired of muddy boots…and who actually likes a challenge, is actually a bit tired of the 4th day in a row of wet weather. This is the thing that separate the can-do folks from the fair weather “farmers”. So I have to remind me that I can take it…I can take my sheep shelter flooded out…I can take cold fingers, wet wool hats, hay that sticks to wet pants and a permanently red nose with chapped lips. I can get my sheep, rabbits, goats and chickens fed. And I can still get dyeing done and wool washed. Just not sure how long stuff will take to dry.

image

A washed shetland fleece drying…maybe

 

But I will git her done. And I will sip hot tea, and keep an eye to the sky….because the worst is yet to come. We have 5-8 inches of snow coming tonight. And I will be moving goats and rams to the barn before 2pm. Thank you mother nature for your wisdom. You say jump and I will say, “how high?”

About woolfarmgal

In middle age, had the courage to follow my heart-raise sheep, goats and rabbits and build a business around fiber. In the process, discovered an outlet for creativity. I not only knit, I spin, dye yarn, roving and felt, I also now knitting Shetland Wool socks on my antique sock machine called 1910 Socks. I also design patterns for knitting. You can find my products on my Etsy shop, Sweet Tree Hill Farm. And I teach many of these skills. My bliss is working where I live, having sheep as co-workers and sharing all of this with other fiber enthusiasts.

Posted on January 17, 2013, in In the Pasture, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Homeplace Earth

Education and Design for a Sustainable World

SockerMom

Where socks are a party!

ella gordon

textile maker

Outlander Online

Your #1 Source For All Things Outlander

Terry Dresbach

AN 18th CENTURY LIFE

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Wovember

Celebrating WOOL for what it is.

Dairy Carrie

Live, Love, Eat Cheese

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Rhonda Gessner

Purpose, Passion & Profit

Uist Wool

North Uist's Spinning Mill

Sheepy Hollow Farm

Home to Wooly Tyme Shetlands & Kids Play Dairy Goats

February Twelve

To knit, knit, knit

weestorybook

recording creative ideas, adventures and finds

I can do that!

An optimist's guide to D.I.Y.

