It is now August-dog days on steroids

I will admit it, I am not a fan of summer. I spend lots of time outside as I have to tend animals and a garden. But it become increasingly difficult this time of year, so some things do fall by the wayside-namely keeping a tidy garden. I do just enough not to be overtaken by weeds-but not much more. And I struggle daily with the watering-my garden always seems to need more than I give it so it is looking a bit haggard. That being said-it still is producing. My sweet 100 cherry tomatoes are more like sweet 1000’s. And I am now getting a good crop of peppers. And I even have harvested 4 cantaloupes this week.

Lovely for breakfast!

As we have had the hottest and driest July that I can remember, I dread August even more. Our pastures still look like a moonscape. The few rains we have had have not made much of a dent. While I have added hay to the diet of the sheep and goats-they seem to be even more eager to get their grain rations-if that is possible.

I have altered my schedule to feed animals in the evening-when things cool a bit. After giving grain to the sheep-I have gotten in the habit of sitting on the crunchy grass with my flock to look them over and build our shepherd/sheep relationship. Some of the lambs now come over to be scratched-namely Wally (of course!) but also Hickory. And they even pay me in little lamby kisses. Such a treat for me as I love these little guys.

But still…I do need to venture out in the hot conditions to tend to the rabbits-keeping them cool with frozen 2 liter bottles of ice. And also making sure everyone has water and so on. Not to mention hanging out over hot pots of steaming yarn as I dye. I have never sweat so much in my life. At the end of the day-I cannot cool off fast enough and rid my body of salty sweat. (Maybe that is what the lambs are kissing off!)

Well-Fall is 6 weeks away…cannot get here fast enough! My kids are saddened that they start beck to school this week-I say-be happy you are in air conditioning.

Steamed Squash and Onions

Quick recipe for using up your squash-this is what I dream of in winter as I am planning my garden. And it is soooooo easy!

Slice 2 good-sized Summer Squash and slice 1 half of a sweet onion and put in a microwave safe casserole dish. Mix together. Add about 3-4 tablespoons of water. Slice 3 or 4 pats of real butter and place on top. Add salt and pepper to taste. Place in microwave on high for 8 minutes. Stir and there you have it-a lovely side dish for any meal in just a few minutes. Enjoy and stay cool!

About woolfarmgal

In middle age, had the courage to follow my heart-raise sheep, goats and rabbits and build a business around fiber. In the process, discovered an outlet for creativity. I not only knit, I spin, dye yarn, roving and felt, I also now knitting Shetland Wool socks on my antique sock machine called 1910 Socks. I also design patterns for knitting. You can find my products on my Etsy shop, Sweet Tree Hill Farm. And I teach many of these skills. My bliss is working where I live, having sheep as co-workers and sharing all of this with other fiber enthusiasts.

Posted on August 6, 2012, in Farm Recipes, In the Garden, In the Pasture and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Homeplace Earth

Education and Design for a Sustainable World

SockerMom

Where socks are a party!

ella gordon

textile maker

Outlander Online

Your #1 Source For All Things Outlander

Terry Dresbach

AN 18th CENTURY LIFE

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Wovember

Celebrating WOOL for what it is.

Dairy Carrie

Live, Love, Eat Cheese

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Rhonda Gessner

Purpose, Passion & Profit

Uist Wool

North Uist's Spinning Mill

Sheepy Hollow Farm

Home to Wooly Tyme Shetlands & Kids Play Dairy Goats

February Twelve

To knit, knit, knit

weestorybook

recording creative ideas, adventures and finds

I can do that!

An optimist's guide to D.I.Y.

