We Dream in Color…

..at least I do. Have you ever been in a dream and all of a sudden you realize you are conscious of it and can actually make decisions as to what will happen in those dreams? Those are usually the ones where you can fly and the colors you see are more vivid than in real life. Or are they?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One of the advantages of having a good part of your day outside is breathing the fresh air. And on a farm-many tasks can be very repetitive. They take on a meditative quality. At those moments, I can sort of step out of my head, much like a dream and observe what is around me. It starts with sound, a bird’s song with a melody made up as it goes along, bees humming as they perform their occupation of gathering nectar, the sheep bellowing out a greeting or a “where the heck are ya?” in terms of a ewe to her lambs, maybe a rooster’s yodel. And yes there are machines too, like a neighbor’s tractor in the distance or an occasional car. I do take pleasure in deciphering the poetry and music that is happening around me.

Then the scents take on a featured role, musky wet damp earth, a sweat note of some blossom, wheat straw-like scent grass just mowed-all like a perfume that changes and evolves.

And as my eyes wander, they fall on tiny details, seemingly random patterns of pebbles under my feet in neutral shades of wheat, slate, tan bark, and Spanish tile; droplets of rain clinging to the tips of leaves in all shades of green and not so green; collections of petals that form a flower, a painting of color that defy any crayon box; fruit like precious jewels hidden beneath great fans of enormous leaves with pops of yellow-squash with matching flowers!

You might ask, “What magical task are you undertaking?” My meditation might be considered weeding to others. Our lives can be of our own design, like the dreams we can control.

About woolfarmgal

In middle age, had the courage to follow my heart-raise sheep, goats and rabbits and build a business around fiber. In the process, discovered an outlet for creativity. I not only knit, I spin, dye yarn, roving and felt, I also now knitting Shetland Wool socks on my antique sock machine called 1910 Socks. I also design patterns for knitting. You can find my products on my Etsy shop, Sweet Tree Hill Farm. And I teach many of these skills. My bliss is working where I live, having sheep as co-workers and sharing all of this with other fiber enthusiasts.

Posted on June 14, 2012, in In the Garden, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Caroline King

    I did a lot of meditating while milking the goats twice a day for over five years. How I miss those quite moments, the smell of the barn hay, the chickens calling to each other…nothing can ever replace those sweet times 🙂

  2. I look for opportunities everyday. And lately working on colorcards are also a good time for reflection.

Leave a Reply

Young. Female. Cancer.

I have no filter. Welcome to my brain.

Homeplace Earth

Education and Design for a Sustainable World

SockerMom

Where socks are a party!

ella gordon

textile maker

Outlander Online

Your #1 Source For All Things Outlander

Terry Dresbach

AN 18th CENTURY LIFE

Mark Lipinski's Blog

Where creative people can be themselves. . . at last!

Wovember

Celebrating WOOL for what it is.

Dairy Carrie

Live, Love, Eat Cheese

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Rhonda Gessner

Purpose, Passion & Profit

Uist Wool

North Uist's Spinning Mill

Sheepy Hollow Farm

Home to Wooly Tyme Shetlands & Kids Play Dairy Goats

February Twelve

To knit, knit, knit

weestorybook

recording creative ideas, adventures and finds

I can do that!

An optimist's guide to D.I.Y.

